top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJen R

Week 7 - Post of My Choice

"Greeting Implicit Bias with Self-Compassion"



In my last reflection, I touched on the topic of personal bias in relation to the way we live our lives and gather experiences. In this video, Jennifer Bohn discusses the magnitude of these biases and how in the worst of cases, it can mean life or death. Now, fortunately I don't work in healthcare but implicit bias is everywhere whether we see it or not.


I'm a white woman and because of this, in my lifetime, I have dealt with little to no unfair treatment due to my skin colour. If any at all, the bias displayed towards me have all been due to the fact that I'm a woman - but I'll stop there otherwise this will really derail this post and I'll start ranting.


Jennifer notes that even the people with the best of intentions are subject to bias. People who are advocates and visionaries carry these just like everyone else. She also stressed that it is no one's fault. We don't carry these willingly.


"None of us are to blame, yet none of us are exempt" - Jennifer Bohn



1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page